EYFS Curriculum

Home / EYFS Curriculum
EYFS Curriculum

EYFS Curriculum

EYFS Curriculum

EYFS Curriculum

EYFS Curriculum

EYFS (FS1) and Foundation Stage 2 (FS2)

Our curriculum follows the British Early Years Foundation Stage. (EYFS Curriculum) Foundation Stage 1 (FS1) and Foundation Stage 2 (FS2) are vitally important years because they provide a firm base for all future learning to flourish. It is essential that children have the opportunity to build their knowledge and understanding to ensure that they develop a secure foundation for later life.

The EYFS curriculum in FS1 and FS2 centres on seven different areas of learning:

  1. Communication and language
  2. Physical development
  3. Personal social and emotional development
  4. Literacy
  5. Mathematics
  6. Understanding of the world
  7. Expressive arts

Active learning through play and experimental investigation is an essential basis for effective education at every stage. Teachers and their assistants try to create a stimulating environment in order to facilitate learning and to capitalize on the children’s interests.

The children are encouraged to lead their own learning, and as such, the organization of space, materials and people is designed to support this independence. Within the day-to-day life of the classroom there is a carefully considered schedule, which provides a framework for planning. Children learn to make decisions, ask questions and reflect on their own learning. Careful observations of the children’s development allow the teachers to make informed judgements about the learning taking place and possible next steps, to plan relevant, challenging and motivating experiences for each child.

Key aspects of effective learning characteristics include children:

  • being willing to have a go;
  • being involved and concentrating;
  • having their own ideas;
  • choosing ways to do things;
  • finding new ways;
  • enjoying achieving what they set out to do.

The four themes of the Early Years Foundation Stage underpin all of the planning, observation and assessment of individuals. These themes are:

  1. A unique child
  2. Positive relationships
  3. Enabling environments
  4. Learning and development

For more detailed information about the Early Years Foundation Stage please click here.